Interesting Java related Links. Weeks 4-5, 2015

  1. Direct ByteBuffer example – a nice introduction into the direct off-heap JVM memory allocation. Did my own measurements for 3.3 GB file: In my own measurements on the Linux JDK 1.8 I don’t really see any difference between direct buffer, indirect buffer and usual read out. Just the direct FileInputStream reading is a bit faster.
  2. Docker (podcast) – a very nice audio introduction into Docker. Always wanted to play with it. Got even more desire after listening this podcast. It’s definitely a theme I’m going to push for the next mini-hackathon we help Friday nights (till 3-4 AM :-D)
  3. Default methods in JDK8 – nice overview of the default methods which landed in JDK8. Something similar to traits with some limitations.
  4. Lambdas and GC – worthwhile reading to see that lambdas do not come for free even though JIT could often optimize and place those on stack rather than in heap.
  5. Enhanced debugging – the article contains several useful advices on making life easier when application is already running.
  6. Versionless optimistic locking – never heard of this one before.
  7. hat.jit.su – Sometimes we’re have to estimate projects with colleagues remotely. The last time used the mentioned website. Really simple and really useful. Just have a Skype call and join the same room
  8. Performance vs memory leaks – a good visualization on trade-offs and some unexpected effects you can get during upgrade.

What’s interesting:

  1. Last Friday, January 23 we had a small hackathon on Akka just to see what’s it like to use it. May be I’m just stupid but neither me nor guys sat near me were able to make typed actors to work in an asynchronous manner. Even though the class proxy object is created – it’s not really invoked asynchronously. Will need to talk to someone experienced about that.
  2. Finished the first stage of development of a small app for Moto 360 which reminds me not to sit all day long behind the IDE and other good things I wish to become a habit. Since I’m having access to BT 4.0 device for a very limited time – it’s fully standalone. The next big feature I’ll probably put my hands on will be direct BT socket communication. I believe that’s the way my Fitbit Flex works with the Android VirtualBox image and BT 4.0 adapter installed in my laptop.
  3. This Friday night we’re going to dive into Docker a bit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

